THE SEVEN CONTINENTS KNOWLEDGE ORGANISER

World Map and Overview

-The surface of the planet is about 29% land. There are seven continents: Africa, Antarctica, Asia, Australia, Europe, North America and South America.



-A continent is a massive area of land that is separated from other areas of land by water or natural features.

-Five of the continents are connected to at least one other continent by land, whilst Antarctica and Australia are cut off from others by the oceans.

-Each continent has a wide range of land types, climates and animal life.



The Five Oceans						
	Asia		Africa			
-A	-Asia is the largest continent in the world.		-Africa is the 2nd	2nd largest continent.		
-It is mainly located in the Eastern and Northern hemispheres.			-The continent straddles the Equator, with more of its landmass in the northern hemisphere.			
-It contains countries like Russia, China and India.			-It contains countries like Egypt, Nigeria and Chad.			
	North Amer	ica		Europe		
-North America is the 3 rd largest continent.			-Europe is the 2 nd smallest continent.		All and a second s	
-It is mainly located in the western hemisphere.			-It is located in the northern hemisphere.			
-It contains countries such as the United States, Canada, Mexico and the Caribbean countries.			-It contains countries such as the United Kingdom, France, Germany, Italy and Spain.			
South America -South America is the		Australic		Antarctica		
		-Australia is the		-Antarctica is the		
4 th largest continent. smallest continer		nt in the world.	. world's southernmost continent.			
-It is located in the western hemisphere. It contains countries like Brazil, Argentina and Chile.			contains	-It is the location of the South Pole. There are no countries. It is the coldest continent.		

Continents by Size









1.	The equator passes through the continents of South America, Africa and Asia.	
2.	Until 1840, Antarctica was known as	

-The continents haven't

always looked as they do now – they are always

moving (although very

slowly!)

-This is called 'continental

drift.' It happens because

the tectonic plates under

the earth's surface move.

-Around 250 million years

ago, all of the land on

earth was in one giant

super-continent called

Pangaea.

- 'Terra Australis Incognita' ('Unknown Southern Land').
- 3. Asia has 1/3 of the land on earth.
- 4. Australia is sometimes known as an 'island continent.'
- 5. Europe is the only continent without any deserts.



8.6 million km²

10.2 million km² 14.2 million km²

17.8 million km² 24.7 million km² 30.3 million km²

44.5millionkm²

- 9. North America has every type of climate – Tropical, Dry, Continental, Moderate and Polar.
- 10. The largest rainforest, the Amazon, is in South America.